5v5 Draft West Week 1 Preview and Power Rankings | CAC League Discussion | Discussion

Avatar

Please consider registering
guest

sp_LogInOut Log In sp_Registration Register

Register | Lost password?
Advanced Search

— Forum Scope —




— Match —





— Forum Options —





Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

sp_Feed Topic RSS sp_TopicIcon
5v5 Draft West Week 1 Preview and Power Rankings
Topic Rating: 0 Topic Rating: 0 (0 votes) 
September 13, 2021
2:30 pm
Avatar
Member
Members
Forum Posts: 56
Member Since:
September 5, 2012
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

As Harry alluded to in his post-draft power rankings, I will be assisting him with coverage in my return to the CAC world. Given I’ve never seen half the league play these rankings are a bit of a guess, but that certainly isn’t going to stop me from dropping power rankings and game previews as if I know exactly what I’m talking about.

 

Pre-season Power Rankings:

8. Sheffield

Gordon is one of the nicest people in the league and unfortunately that came back to bite him with a weird post draft trade to allow Chas to play with his friend Healey. Eusden is the best big man in the league, but I don’t love the team around him. Lagno is a solid scorer, but he’s a volume shooter and more of a off-ball guard than true point guard. Randall, Sheffield, Alphen and Butterworth are solid depth players and the rookie is a wildcard, but when your third highest scorer averaged 9 ppg in 2016 that’s not usually a good sign. Eusden could be incredible and I’m far too low on them, but until I see him play they are at the bottom of the rankings.

7. Pranam

This team will go as far as Fay can take them and if he is as good as we think that could be pretty far. Fay averaged 7.3 ppg as a senior playing D-3 ball including shooting 41.1% from three and in his only CAC league dropped 17 a game in A5v5. He should have no problem scoring, but I’m not sure who else is there to help him out. Cantoni seems like a volume shooter, but with Fay on the team you don’t really want that and Muccio, Rakusin and Ottomatic are solid contributors, but not gamechangers. Their second round pick Djordje was also stunned to hear his name called that early which is never a good sign. With most teams having a big I get the pick, but I’m not sure if he is the right big to compliment Fay’s game. Fay will keep them in games, but the lack of a supporting cast keeps them near the bottom, unless Fay is just that much better than everyone in the league.  

6. Ball

Jamil has been around forever and out together a mix of CAC vets and his friends. Robel and Leblanc are proven performers, though both are coming off down seasons. I don’t know much about the rest of the team, but Stahl’s bio is interesting and if he is good that gives them five solid players. Robel’s friend Motha is a wildcard. If he is good that gives them some much needed depth, but if not I have concerns about the drop off when any of their starters come out of the game.

5. Martins

This team has a wide range of outcomes, largely dependent on hos good their rookies are. The first pick King has college stats and pairing him with Dwyer and Clasby who played together before, seems like a shrewd move. King at point guard with two active bigs in Dwyer and Clasby provides good balance, but beyond that there are question marks. We don’t know how the rookies Linskey and Donnolly will adjust to CAC ball and Martins hasn’t really had to be a starter and is a first-time captain so there is some uncertainty there as well. Their last two picks were a couple of vets in Williams and Chao Quan who is a wall ball legend. If the rookies are good, this ranking is too low, but we have to see that first to move them up.

4. Civale

This team seems like is should have been in B Draft in 2017 with a bunch of guys who have been around CAC for a while. I think Civale did a great job maximizing value at every pick and somehow conned Sheffield into swapping Chas’s friend for Alphen when it would have made way more sense to swap him for Calderan. With that trade, Civale’s team goes eight deep and has good size. My one concern is their lack of wings. They have Lerner and Chas as guards, but Ghost, Kodra and Civale are all bigs and spacing could be an issue, as could transition offense. Lerner wants to get out and run at all times and we’ve seen him at his best with players who like to do the same around him. Other than Chas, I don’t see anyone getting out and running with them so will he slow his game down to match his teammates? These questions need to be answered before I can move them into the top three.

3. Cundall

After a few seasons off I’m starting out a bit more cautious with my team since I haven’t seen some key contributors play before. Pollock and Cavano have won on teams before and complement each other well and I was told Alex was a great third option which is all he has to be on this team. Kola is somewhat of a wildcard, but he has one trait you can’t teach in height. If he can run, protect the rim and make layups that is all we will need out of him. The two Gylnn’s, myself and Ames rounding out the roster give us solid depth and if Ryan Glynn is anything like he was back last time he played, he was a steal at that spot in the draft. It might take us a few games to get going, but we have depth, balance on offense and defense and the ability to play multiple styles which should serve us well given how different some of the teams in the league are constructed.

2. Run N Gun

This is somewhat of a hedge, but if their first-round pick is as good as we suspect, it could be too low. He says he hasn’t played basketball in a while, but being 6-4 and a division one college soccer player gives him a big advantage over the majority of the league. Even if he is just an athletic big guy, I think they have plenty of scoring. Vladi knows how to score and get his teammates involved and Larusson, Devine and Johnson all had solid numbers last season. I’ve never seen any of them play but having one of them come off the bench gives them a ton of depth. The ceiling of this team will be determined by Hansson, but they have a high floor with the talent we know, more than enough to challenge for the top spot.

1. Amir Coincidence

Coming off a championship with a similarly constructed team it would be foolish to have anyone else in the top spot. Amir Coincidence returns many of the same players as last season, but with Tenney replacing league MVP Sam Pollock. Somehow, Harry (and Joel somewhat) did it again and got great value with all his picks to create another solid team. Casey, Joel, Weinstein and Liam are as good a four as you’ll find in the league and all can get out and run which will be important against some of the slower paced teams. After that, Harry, Liao and Amir are solid depth and the rookie Udofia is the wild card. If he can run also, that gives them five players who can go up and down the court at will. Harry has had success with Casey led teams before and Joel and Weinstein are perfect compliments to him. If Casey is in a passing mood, he should easily lead the league in assists with solid perimeter shooters like Amir, Corrigan and Weinstein spacing the floor and Joel cutting to the rim. It’s a very well-constructed team and has to be number one until someone knocks them off.

 

Week One Preview:

 

Cundall vs. Block Party 6pm Game (Harry)

My broadcast partner and his squad open up the season against the recently undefeated (unofficially one loss in hypothetical Uni game) Jamil and his block party. I’m going to be very interested to see how this game unfolds, because it could set the standard for the rest of the season in many ways.

This going to be a good test to see which Robel we get, which is obviously going to be a big factor in the success of Block Party. I assume Kola, will open up on him, but Cavano might be tasked with the duty as well. Will Robel just dominated them to say, the tune of 15 points and 14 boards or will be in the 8-7 range? I’ll also be watching Leblanc, to see if he’s overcome the Civale curse or not. How he hurt is he? Is he getting old or this just 5v5 Leblanc? Obviously, the rookies for Jamil I’ll have my eye on too. This seems like it’s a slow and plodding team.

A season after being carried by Joel and myself, Pollock will rejoin his good buddy Ian. I have many questions about them too, despite their ranking. I wonder if Kola, will realize his potential as a big and he has a big test this week (pun intended). I’m also not sold on the parts around young Samuel. Kola, isn’t really a PnR guy and Cavano is now a standalone three point shooter (you heard me Christopher!). I like Alex as a player too, but he isn’t the catch pass from Pollock and shoot right away guy like a Weinstein, he likes to get in triple threat position. 

This will be your classic slow vs fast team match-up, where two philosophies bang heads. I assume the ghost of Leblanc, will try guarding Pollock, which means Jamil will get Alex. I think that’s a good match-up for Alex and I think the Cavano-Kola pairing will do enough to bother the dog Robel, in the post. I see CUNDALL’S team having mid-season chemistry as well and that usually helps a lot in week 1. They take down a close one.

CUNDALL -4.5 OVER BLOCK PARTY

 

Civale vs. Amir Coincidence 7pm Game

Harry/Joel open up their championship defense with a match against Civale’s throwback Bdraft squad. This should be a fun game given how different the roster constructions are on paper and features several matchups we’ve seen in the past.

The marquee matchup here is Lerner vs. Tenney. Both are coming off solid statistical seasons and can go off for 30 plus on a given night without breaking a sweat. I assume Lerner will guard Casey, but I suspect Harry will go with Joel on Lerner as he has liked to hide Casey defensively on a big in the past.

The secondary casts are what is going to decide the game and that’s where I think Amir Coincidence has the advantage. Weinstein, Joel and Liam compliment Casey’s game really well and are coming off a championship season together so you know the chemistry between them is there. Casey and Pollock are different players, but it is easy to see Harry/Joel were trying to recreate last season’s squad.  

Civale’s secondary cast is also solid, but I don’t love them in this matchup. Kodra, Ghost and Civale all play best with the ball in their hands and on a smallish 5v5 court I’m not sure how the spacing will work, especially with Chas running around and cutting into them for a lot of the game. They do have a significant size advantage, however, especially if Joel is guarding Lerner, so I suspect that will be something Civale looks to exploit. The problem is if the defense collapses on a big, other than Ghost and Lerner they don’t have any consistent knock down shooters.

The battle of the benches, however, is a big advantage in Civale’s favor even with Amir on the other team. Calderan, Healey and Taha is group who all could start on another team and can come in and run the offense with minimal drop off. The depth on Civale’s team will especially needed in this game as they look to keep up with Casey. Amir Coincidence’s bench is more of an unknown with Udofia a wildcard. If he is a solid option that would be huge for them, especially if he has some size.

I think this will be a close game, but until someone dethrones the defending champions, they have to be the favorite. Their core four has as much fire power as any team in the league and the ability to get out in transition which could prove a problem for Civale.

AMIR COINCIDENCE -5 OVER CIVALE

 

Sheffield vs. Run N Gun 8pm Game

Having not played last season, this game was a bit more challenging to preview as I’ve yet to see the majority of the players on either team. I’m really looking forward to it though as we get to see how big of a sandbag Arnar Steinn Hansson and how Eusden does against someone of similar height and athleticism (allegedly) to him.  

This was one of the toughest matchups for Sheffield’s team out of the gate as Run N Gun has size, athleticism and depth. Of the five players who have stats on their team, four averaged at least 10 ppg in their last CAC season. Scarily, none of them were their first-round pick also. Sheffield on the other hand, has Eusden who is coming off a 17-17 season, but other than that Lagno is the only player to average 10 ppg in their last season. Their offense will run through Eusden, but I have concerns over how they will get him the ball and if he is double teamed, they seem to lack the shooting to make the defense pay.

Run N Gun on the other hand, has many of the traits we’ve seen win these leagues in the past with size, athleticism and depth. If Hansson is as good as we suspect, he should be able to slow down Eusden, especially with the other defenders able to help down on him. Offensively, they have CAC veteran Vladi Nichev leading the pack and while he isn’t always the most willing passer, if the Larusson, Johnson, Devine and Hansson get in good positions he will find them.

Another unknown in this game is what Run N Guns depth is like. They have two rookies coming off the bench including John Harding who provided one of the most detailed bios in CAC history. He sounds like a decent best option, but it’s always a red flag when someone says they will try to shoot their way out of slumps. With so much firepower on this team already, they don’t need someone forcing up shots when they are struggling. He needs to be solid or there could be a pretty big drop off when one of their starters comes off the court.

While I think Sheffield could keep this close at the start, I’m concerned as the game goes on Run N Gun will pull away and win comfortably. They have too much fire power and I don’t like the matchups at all for Sheffield.

RUN N GUN -10.5 OVER SHEFFIELD

 

Luca Conconi All Stars vs. The Delta Variants 9pm Game (Harry)

Championship Raphael, starts his captaincy with the West Coast, game of the evening. He takes on local nice guy Pranam, who is outraged by disrespect of the local media. The obvious attraction to this game, besides OTTOMATIC, will be the two rookie D3 college players. I can’t wait to see both of them get out and make it rain on them ho’s.

A match-up like this, is what led to me to feeling apprehensive about Pranam’s squad this season. They have a group of guys who range from guard size, then straight to center in Djordje’s case. This is a game where they’re going to have to deal with a couple wings, who are too quick for Djordje, but bigger than the guards. I assume Fay, will be ok with guarding one of the wings, but his load on offense is already set to be very large. Cantoni, is tasked with having to be a big scorer on this team again, because Muccio can go hot/cold and the Djordjge/Pranam combo rely on others to feed them the rock. If Fay, isn’t good or isn’t awesome, it could get ugly.

On the other side, I don’t have much doubt that these guys will score. I do have doubts about the defense. I don’t think they have that quick kind of guard they would need to guard someone like Fay. They do have options, but I don’t think they’re great ones, unless the Iowa rookie is one. Speaking of rookies, they’re going to need this guy Donnelly, to be a solid contributor, because the depth isn’t too great. I’m going to make a not so bold comment and say both their rookies need to be good for these guys to compete.

Unless Fay is really good, I see Luca Conconi All Stars running away with this game. I think they’re facing a team that plays to their strength and none of their weaknesses. Raphael, will do a good job of getting guys looks and keeping the offense moving. I don’t think The Delta Variants score enough.

Luca Conconi All Stars -6 over The Delta Variants 

September 13, 2021
3:32 pm
Avatar
Member
Members
Forum Posts: 1170
Member Since:
February 8, 2014
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Ian comming out with an incredible preview !! Be happy people you don’t get good stuff like this in other leagues. 

After spending time thinking about it I think Healy will really struggle to get his O going. Alphen will provide more scoring / rebounding and Tyler will prob just serve as a solid defender which is good to have but I think the trade will be a wash. 

As far as my teams shooting concerns. consistent shooters in these leagues,  you typically will see s 33-36 % , obvi there are guys who shoot better than that but I have been shooting in that range for a very long time, we are not worried . Please collapse and give me all the open looks.

GMOY and B draft CHAMPION, Shooter McGavins

September 14, 2021
8:00 am
Avatar
Member
Members
Forum Posts: 1170
Member Since:
February 8, 2014
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

GAME DAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!LETS GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

GMOY and B draft CHAMPION, Shooter McGavins

September 14, 2021
11:43 am
Avatar
Member
Members
Forum Posts: 2611
Member Since:
August 24, 2014
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

2. Run N Gun

This is somewhat of a hedge, but if their first-round pick is as good as we suspect, it could be too low. He says he hasn’t played basketball in a while, but being 6-4 and a division one college soccer player gives him a big advantage over the majority of the league. Even if he is just an athletic big guy, I think they have plenty of scoring. Vladi knows how to score and get his teammates involved and Larusson, Devine and Johnson all had solid numbers last season. I’ve never seen any of them play but having one of them come off the bench gives them a ton of depth. The ceiling of this team will be determined by Hansson, but they have a high floor with the talent we know, more than enough to challenge for the top spot.

We have confirmed that he is not 6’4 at a recent pick-up. My inside sources say he not be as good as initial thought. Of course we’ll see tonight.

5v5 Draft West S21 Champs and Unofficial Uni Champs "Get Rich, Die Trying".....Old League Champs S19 "Nice for what?"...…..BDraft F16 3Peat Champs "Evolution".....BDraft S16 Repeat Champs "Visionaries".....BDraft W16 UNI Champs "Foreign Fanatics" (BDraft W16 East Undefeated Champions "Sorry for Jabari")......Kap 2v2 Invitational Champion.......

September 15, 2021
11:49 am
Avatar
Member
Members
Forum Posts: 2611
Member Since:
August 24, 2014
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Small recap of the evening:

Block Party whacked team CUNDALL into next week without Leblanc there. 

Amir Coincidence defended the title like a champ, making quick work of team Civale

Run N’ Gun lost their captain in the opening minutes to a blown ankle, but still managed to defeat team Sheff by a good margin, the closest of the night. 

 

The Luca Conconi All Stars ended the night by withstanding Jungle Jack Fay to a statement win by 15. 

5v5 Draft West S21 Champs and Unofficial Uni Champs "Get Rich, Die Trying".....Old League Champs S19 "Nice for what?"...…..BDraft F16 3Peat Champs "Evolution".....BDraft S16 Repeat Champs "Visionaries".....BDraft W16 UNI Champs "Foreign Fanatics" (BDraft W16 East Undefeated Champions "Sorry for Jabari")......Kap 2v2 Invitational Champion.......

September 15, 2021
12:11 pm
Avatar
Member
Members
Forum Posts: 1170
Member Since:
February 8, 2014
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

I am chalking you this loss as a win . I didn’t puke after not playing for a year 1/2 and having to chase around that crazy man Weinstein. Small victories in life. 

GMOY and B draft CHAMPION, Shooter McGavins

September 15, 2021
12:49 pm
Avatar
Member
Members
Forum Posts: 2611
Member Since:
August 24, 2014
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

In other words, we’ll also be tracking turnovers for this league. So, take care of the rock.

5v5 Draft West S21 Champs and Unofficial Uni Champs "Get Rich, Die Trying".....Old League Champs S19 "Nice for what?"...…..BDraft F16 3Peat Champs "Evolution".....BDraft S16 Repeat Champs "Visionaries".....BDraft W16 UNI Champs "Foreign Fanatics" (BDraft W16 East Undefeated Champions "Sorry for Jabari")......Kap 2v2 Invitational Champion.......

September 15, 2021
4:56 pm
Avatar
Member
Members
Forum Posts: 2611
Member Since:
August 24, 2014
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

We opened the season up with my broadcast partner and local scouting legend, Ian Cundall, taking on Jamil’s Block Party. Cundall’s team, was considered a top contender going into this game, while Jamil’s team was on the fringe. Boy, do we have a developing situation, TO THE ACTION!

Block Party was missing their second round pick Leblanc, for this game, but that didn’t seem matter right off the bat. Jamil, welcomed himself to the league by banging home three first half trey balls and was a wrecking ball himself driving down the lane. The captain was looking fresh as hell leading his team to a big lead to start the game. Dan “let me show some more leg” O. was contributing with some jump shots of his own, leaving captain Cundall a bit confused. Robel, was throwing a black party defensively and his buddy Motha, was eating down low, scoring 6 first half buckets. These guys were looking very impressive in the first half, meanwhile……….

Cundall’s squad, newly named Glynn Reapers, looked absolutely awful. The reigning MVP played as bad as I’ve probably ever seen him play. Pollock, at one point had 5 turnovers to his 0 points and finished the game without an assist. Stop laughing Joel! It was downright awful for Pollock and his team, which you can all freely assume will go as Pollock goes. I wish I could provide any highlights for this team in the half or game, besides Alex’s new haircut, but I just don’t have any. Alex and Scott Glynn led the team with 4 points a piece in the first half.

Block Party went into the half up 35-17. Jamil had one less point than the entire Reapers squad in the first half. I was thinking things could get better in the second half, but that was, because how could they get worse?

The second half would be the Calvin Stahl, who probably realized “these guys suck, I’m better than them” and started to ball all over the court. He had 5 second half assists, to go along with 10 points and 8 rebounds. Block Party, was playing in a zone and did a good job of trapping the ball handler up top. The Reapers did a terrible job of adjusting to this and were beaten badly, due to that. 

Cavano was the lone bright spot for the Reapers in this half. Cavano, did a good job of finding the guy who can score on this team, aka Pollock for some assist. He would also have 4 blocks and a nice little double-double for the game. He did have two of his patented dribble and bad pass turnovers, but considering the way the rest of his team handled the ball, it was a good Cavano game. 

Once the Reapers were victimized by the Stahl stretch, this game was over. A pretty big opening night win for the Block Party, minus a key player. A terrible, embarrassing loss for the Reapers on opening night. 58-38 Final.

Grades

Jeff Motha B: If this guy is going to be close to double-doubles every week off the bench, that would be clutch for his team.

Jamil A: Big day for the captain, carried the offense to a lead they wouldn’t lose and played great D up top to put the nail in the coffin. 

Matt A. C-: I liked the energy he brought, but he needs to make a free throw. 0 for 7? No bueno.

Robel B: The big wasn’t too bad. He made a good impact on defense blocking shots, but the shot was off. One too many three balls.

Big Game James Lindsay B+; I liked the energy I saw out of him.

Daniel “Long Legs” O. B+: Showed good confidence with his jumper and knocked them down when they counted.

Calvi Stahl A-: Impressive performance, but gets a minus for doing squat in the first half.

Reapers:

Pollock D-: Worst I’ve ever seen Pollock game, 7 turnovers and no assists?!?!? WOOF!

Cavano B+: This was a good Cavano game, missed threes notwithstanding.

Alex C+: Three steals and 10 boards is good, but what happened to his shot? The Civale/Koller/Leblanc curse?

Ian D+Ian can’t no show a half on this team, reminds me of Frongi and his team last season.

R. Glynn C: Going to need more from him too.

S. Glynn C-: 0 for 5 from 3 won’t cut it. 

Ames C: Ames had some good energy, just need to convert that to some points or rebounds. 

5v5 Draft West S21 Champs and Unofficial Uni Champs "Get Rich, Die Trying".....Old League Champs S19 "Nice for what?"...…..BDraft F16 3Peat Champs "Evolution".....BDraft S16 Repeat Champs "Visionaries".....BDraft W16 UNI Champs "Foreign Fanatics" (BDraft W16 East Undefeated Champions "Sorry for Jabari")......Kap 2v2 Invitational Champion.......

September 15, 2021
5:41 pm
Avatar
Member
Members
Forum Posts: 2611
Member Since:
August 24, 2014
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

The West Coast game of the evening was between Raphael’s Luca Conconi All-Stars and Pranam’s Delta Variant. The world was awaiting the debut of Jungle Jack Fay as well as rookie Gus King and to a smaller scale Alex Linskey. We would not be disappointed by the rookies in this one. Raphael’s team had their best 5 guys, while Pranam was missing Djordje. TO THE ACTION!

Instantly, I recognized Jack Fay, from Hub Boston Sports League. He looked like a player when we played against him there, when his team wasn’t holding back. Luckily for them, his current team was going to give him the rock every time, so he could shot. Unluckily for them, that means the other guys won’t be scoring much and that’s what happened in this game. Jack, came out hot in this game, hitting three first half treys, to go along with a couple buckets inside and two free throws. He would have 15 first points as he attempted to keep his team within striking distance. 

Rookie Alex Linskey, was able to match Fay’s scoring, putting together almost the exact same first half line, minus the free throws. Linskey, looked like a player out there, which is a huge pick-up for this team, that might struggle with depth. Dwyer and Raphael, also had themselves a very good first half. The latter recording 10 rebounds, to go along with 2 blocks, 2 assists and 4 points. The usual all around effort I expect from Old Man Raphael. Dwyer, would have three assists, 7 rebounds and 7 first half points himself. Lots of things to like about this team in the first half.

The Delta Variant was around to hang around in the first half, despite some big numbers the other way. Cantoni, hit a couple treys to help Fay, but someone else was going to need to score in these guys wanted to win the game. The All-Stars went into the half up 34-31.

Things would slow a bit in the second half for both teams. Linskey, was appearing to get gassed a bit, as he had trouble connecting from deep in this half. To be fair, he started taking some long threes, thinking he was Dame Lillard or something. Lucky for them, Dwyer and Raphael would keep up with their scoring pace. Both men combined for 17 points in the second half and a whole lot of rebounds. LC All-stars did a great job of cleaning up the boards on the defensive end and limiting second half chances.

The Delta Variant tried to keep things close in the second half, but they just couldn’t get any scoring from their supporting cast. Cantoni, went real cold in the second half, shooting 1 for 5 from deep. He and Muccio, would be the only two other players to register a point in the second half. Fay, is going to need some more help if these guys want to compete in this league. You can’t have multiple players, including your starters, having scoreless halves. Someone is going to need to step it up.

Eventually, LC All-stars would pull away with this game and take the win 65-50. An impressive start to the season for Raphael’s team. They looked like a team that could compete for the title.

Grades

Muccio C+: Led the team in assists, but couldn’t hit a three. His team needs buckets.

Pranam D+: They need Pranam 3s to fall badly. He couldn’t give any this game.

Cantoni C-: Had a decent first half, but disappeared completely in the second half. Can’t have that on this team.

Mackay B-: Had some nice energy plays and scored twice, which they’ll need.

Jungle Jack Fay A-: Good debut, he might need to do more though.

Ottomatic C+: He gets the plus for taking the charge!

Steve B: Good work on the boards, but they need hoops from him too. It’s a common theme here.

LC All-Stars

Raphael A: I don’t have many complaints here. Good all-around effort to lead his team.

Dwyer A+: Big man’s double-double, along with 4 assists, feels like the best we can get.

Dan B: Almost got a double-double despite his shot being off and did a fair job on Fay.

Gus C: His shot was off this game and that’s what he’s being judged on, until further notice.

Linskey A-: Very good debut, was a little shot happy, but still good work.

5v5 Draft West S21 Champs and Unofficial Uni Champs "Get Rich, Die Trying".....Old League Champs S19 "Nice for what?"...…..BDraft F16 3Peat Champs "Evolution".....BDraft S16 Repeat Champs "Visionaries".....BDraft W16 UNI Champs "Foreign Fanatics" (BDraft W16 East Undefeated Champions "Sorry for Jabari")......Kap 2v2 Invitational Champion.......

September 15, 2021
8:13 pm
Avatar
Member
Members
Forum Posts: 64
Member Since:
May 1, 2013
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
10sp_Permalink sp_Print
0

R. Glynn C: Going to need more from him too.

S. Glynn C-: 0 for 5 from 3 won’t cut it. 

Still mixing the two of us up, not that it really matters, but I don’t want to hang the 0-5 from 3 on poor Scott

September 15, 2021
9:33 pm
Avatar
Member
Members
Forum Posts: 2611
Member Since:
August 24, 2014
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
11sp_Permalink sp_Print
0

RG11 said
R. Glynn C: Going to need more from him too.

S. Glynn C-: 0 for 5 from 3 won’t cut it. 

Still mixing the two of us up, not that it really matters, but I don’t want to hang the 0-5 from 3 on poor Scott  

So I had it right the first time before I talked to you. 

Next Tuesday, report to the scorers table with your ID. 

5v5 Draft West S21 Champs and Unofficial Uni Champs "Get Rich, Die Trying".....Old League Champs S19 "Nice for what?"...…..BDraft F16 3Peat Champs "Evolution".....BDraft S16 Repeat Champs "Visionaries".....BDraft W16 UNI Champs "Foreign Fanatics" (BDraft W16 East Undefeated Champions "Sorry for Jabari")......Kap 2v2 Invitational Champion.......

September 16, 2021
1:22 pm
Avatar
Member
Members
Forum Posts: 2611
Member Since:
August 24, 2014
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
12sp_Permalink sp_Print
0

The newest rookie captain Arnar and company, opened up their season against Sheff and the number 1 pick, Greg Eusden. Sheff, was hoping to recapture the magic from last season and taking the best big man in the league first, is always a good option. The league was eagerly awaiting the debut of Ari Hannson. I was joined by my assistant, Dan Clasby. TO THE ACTION!

The game started on a sad note, with captain Arnar, destroying his ankle going for a rebound. Brutal way for him to start the season, we wish him the best in recovery. Lucky for him, he drafted a savvy CAC veteran in Vladi, who came out hot right away. Vladi, would nail three first half treys and did a good job of getting the ball moving on offense. Every team needs a floor general and Vladi is going to be that for this team. 

On the other end of the floor, it was the Eusden and Lagno show, a recurring theme for their team this game and probably every game after this. Eusden, did his thing, dominating the boards and getting buckets inside. Lagno, did his thing on the outside, chucking three balls. Lagno, was able to to hit three of them in the first half. Rookie Robby Ficker, who looks familiar to me, contributed 6 points to the cause as well. Those were the only three scorers of the half for Sheff’s squad.

It was a close game going into the half, with Sheff’s team leading 29-28. The other Ari, as he called himself, had to go to the bench with 3 quick fouls in the first half. With the other Ari on the bench and the first Ari laying on the baseline with his ankle up, Run N’ Gun was short handed in the first half. BACK TO ACTION!

Rookie John Harding, continued to make an impression in this game. He accurately put that he “sometimes tries to shoot his way out of slumps”, was getting buckets for his team in this game. John, would record a nice 22 points in this game, but I wondered how many shoots it took him to get there. Every time he touched it, I knew that rock was going up. That may or may not be a bad thing for this team. I didn’t see any patented Vladi stares his way, so maybe it’s a good thing? Speaking of Vladi, he continued to put in work on the offensive end. He would hit three more treys in this half, to go along with a couple more dimes. Thanks to the John and Vladi duo, Run N’ Gun started to build a lead against Sheff’s squad. 

Eusden, continued to dominate down low, but he wasn’t getting much help else where. Lagno, started to slow down significantly, once Run N’ Gun realized all he wanted to do was shoot threes. Eusden, had 11 second half points and the rest of the team had, yep, 11 second half points. Not a great sign for these guys if they can’t win Eusden’s monster games. Ficker, Sheff and Lagno combined to go 2 for 14 from 3 in the second half. Yuck, someone has to help out the big man.

Once Run N’ Gun got the lead up to two possessions, this one was over. The Vladi-John combo matched Lagno-Eusden combo point by point and then some.  Sheff’s team just didn’t have the bullets to keep up. 61-51 Final Run N’ Gun.

Grades

Ari C+: I don’t know how to grade him. We thought he was a sandbag, but he didn’t look one, which isn’t his fault, so this grade feels safe. 

Aswad C+: Aswad, was an interesting watch. One second he was shooting the ball 10 feet deep, then the next play he pulled a pass right out of his ass to his teammate for 2.

Harding A-: I thought he took A LOT of shots, but since no one else on his team besides Vladi was scoring, I can get with it.

Kevin D. B: I like how he took the challenge of Eusden, I’d like to see more offensive aggression.

Vladi A: Score it good, passed it well, but didn’t wear a suit to game. No plus.

Johnson B-: Johnson had some good finishes inside the paint, couldn’t connect from deep though.

Tom aka the electric one B-: Two assists and somehow got to 8 boards. I don’t like the turnovers though, 4 is too much Thomas.

Arnar A+: Get better soon.

Sheff

Robby B-: Not a bad debut, but I feel like he has a lot more in him.

Owen D+: I need some hustle plays here, can’t have just missed threes on the stat sheet.

Sheff C-: 5 assists are good, but he can’t have a goose egg scoring. Not on this team. 

Eusden A: I mean, what more can he do? Maybe assists, but that would assume his team could make a shot.

Joey Buckets B: I liked what I saw from Buckets in his limited playing time.

Butter C+: Good work on the boards, but he needs to try and get at least one hoop. 

Lagno B-: I can’t knock him for shooting too much, I can however say he needs to start driving more and creating for his teammates. 

5v5 Draft West S21 Champs and Unofficial Uni Champs "Get Rich, Die Trying".....Old League Champs S19 "Nice for what?"...…..BDraft F16 3Peat Champs "Evolution".....BDraft S16 Repeat Champs "Visionaries".....BDraft W16 UNI Champs "Foreign Fanatics" (BDraft W16 East Undefeated Champions "Sorry for Jabari")......Kap 2v2 Invitational Champion.......

September 19, 2021
2:51 pm
Avatar
Member
Members
Forum Posts: 56
Member Since:
September 5, 2012
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
13sp_Permalink sp_Print
0

The second game of the night featured Harry/Joel’s Amir Coincidence with Joel absent against Civale’s Taha and the Sexy Bunch minus their last two picks. On paper the absence of Joel should have given Civale’s team an advantage given their size, but that isn’t how it played out at all.

In the first half, both teams struggled out of the gate save for Casey and Lerner who carried their respective offenses early. Harry’s team had a slight lead halfway through the first half at 11-5, but there was a lot of bad basketball being played. Things would start to pick up for the rest of the half as Amir knocked down a three and true CAC rookie Iniobongo Udofia was extremely active on both ends with a couple blocks. Casey was doing what he did to carry the offense with some nice contributions from Harry and Weinstein. For the Sexy Bunch, Chas’s energy led to some easy buckets for him and they were able to close what was once a 13 point deficit to three at halftime, thanks to a 10-0 run.

Halftime score: 25-22 Amir Coincidence

Into the second half and Amir Coincidence started to pull away again with some nice basketball being played between Udofia and Kevin Liao. Both had some great passes on drive and kicks to get their teammates wide-open looks. Casey also continued to do what he does with several big offensive rebounds and three to open things back up to a 13 point lead for Amir Coincidence. Civale’s team hasn’t really been mentioned in the write up to this point and that is because they really struggled. Fraher was missing his usual automatic shots, Kodra was clanking threes (he wasn’t the only one) and even Chas looked a little lost out there (I’m chalking that one up to rust). Thankfully Lerner and Calderan were there, otherwise this would have been even more of a blowout as the two of them tried to will Sexy Bunch back into the game with several key threes and buckets. After a Paul three, it was suddenly a six pint game with 13 minutes left and it looked like we were in for a good finish. Unfortunately, Sexy Bunch would only score eight points over the rest of the game and Amir Coincidence would pull away for a 62-44 win.

 

Taha and the Sexy Bunch:

Civale D+: Rough game for the captain as he failed to score and went 0-5 from three. Better days ahead, but he looked like someone who hadn’t picked up a basketball in a year plus (that’s my excuse for getting a D+ in my game)

Chas C+: Ok first half, but really struggled as the game went on. Also went 0-5 from three and added three turnovers. Better days ahead, but first half run and defense on Weinstein saves his grade.

Lerner B: 20 points is good for most, but I’ve seen Lerner take over games which his team badly needed and he didn’t. He also wasn’t as active as usual on the glas realing in only four rebounds.

Kodra C-: Rough game for Evan with only 2 points, but did grab 12 rebounds and chip in a few assists.

Fraher D+: Rough game from Ghost who couldn’t get his usual jump shot to fall.

Calderan A: 14 and 11 off the bench and kept his team in it in the second half. Great start for Paul.

 

Amir Coincidence:

Amir C: Three pointers were right on-line but all long save for one. Seems Amir was hitting the weight room hard in the offseason and will have to adjust to his new found strength.

Casey A-: 21/18/5 is a heck of a start, but five turnovers knocks the grade down one.

Harry B+: Great start to the year for Harry with 8 points and 4 rebounds. Grade drops a bit because he didn’t take context into consideration with my grade.

Iniobong A+: Very impressive CAC debut with a double-double and multiple assists, steals and blocks. Extremely active and clearly knows how to play the game. Looks like a steal where Harry drafted him and makes an already dangerous team even better.

Kevin B: Nice start for Kevin with a bucket, good defense and some nice passes. Played his role really well and looked active.

Liam C+: Played really good defense, but didn’t have his shot, going 1-7 from three.

Weinstein B: Played his role to perfection and passed really well, tying with Casey for the team lead with five assists.  

September 19, 2021
9:03 pm
Avatar
Member
Members
Forum Posts: 2611
Member Since:
August 24, 2014
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
14sp_Permalink sp_Print
0

Iniobong A+: Very impressive CAC debut with a double-double and multiple assists, steals and blocks. Extremely active and clearly knows how to play the game. Looks like a steal where Harry drafted him and makes an already dangerous team even better.

Joel deserves full credit for this pick.

5v5 Draft West S21 Champs and Unofficial Uni Champs "Get Rich, Die Trying".....Old League Champs S19 "Nice for what?"...…..BDraft F16 3Peat Champs "Evolution".....BDraft S16 Repeat Champs "Visionaries".....BDraft W16 UNI Champs "Foreign Fanatics" (BDraft W16 East Undefeated Champions "Sorry for Jabari")......Kap 2v2 Invitational Champion.......

September 20, 2021
10:03 am
Avatar
Member
Members
Forum Posts: 1170
Member Since:
February 8, 2014
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
15sp_Permalink sp_Print
0

Little bit of a nightmarish start for us, but there  aren’t going to be too many nights where Civale/Ghost/Evan/me = 10 pts. Crazy enough we were still in that game, brighter days ahead for the sexy bunch!

GMOY and B draft CHAMPION, Shooter McGavins

Forum Timezone: America/New_York

Most Users Ever Online: 110

Currently Online:
17 Guest(s)

Currently Browsing this Page:
1 Guest(s)

Top Posters:

#KapVP: 4426

HTD1223: 2611

docspauld: 2386

damruff: 2203

Mazz63: 1950

action781: 1714

Zak: 1646

MattyBells: 1220

DBrdshw: 1211

Alan: 1188

chasbells: 1170

Bully: 1123

Frongi: 1077

D-Will: 1027

Jrub07: 980

Member Stats:

Guest Posters: 63

Members: 2273

Moderators: 0

Admins: 3

Forum Stats:

Groups: 1

Forums: 7

Topics: 3936

Posts: 60822